AAP lost security deposit in Delhi bypoll election, BJP wins

By | April 13, 2017

AAP lost security deposit in Delhi bypoll election

Delhi, Rajouri Garden by-polls: With 40,602 votes, BJP’s Manjinder Singh Sirsa defeats Congress’ Meenakshi Chandela, who won 25,950 votes. AAP’s Harjeet Singh won 10,243 votes after 17 rounds of counting.

The BJP scored a massive win in Rajouri bypoll in west Delhi on Thursday defeating its nearest rival Congress by over 14,000 votes.

The bypoll, which is being seen as a precursor to the MCD polls scheduled for April 23, came as a blow for AAP which could only get 10,000 votes securing a distant third position. The AAP candidate secured only 14% the votes polled and lost deposit.

BJP’s winning candidate Majinder Singh Sirsa said the results showed that people had rejected AAP. “This is the end of AAP-led government in Delhi,” Sirsa said.